Outreachy, Mid-Project Report

Outreachy, Mid-Project Report

As a quick overview, my project is designing and implementing a new user interface for infragram.org, a two page site which features an interactive tool which processes images for infrared analysis of vegetation. I broke my project goals into two week increments. I felt like this approach fell in nicely with Outreachy and Public Lab meetings and timelines. The following is a gist of what I planned to accomplish in each of those time spans:

  • Week 1/2: Finalize the Sandbox design, the page which houses the tool, and begin its implementation.
  • Week 3/4: Finalize implementation of the sandbox page and begin the design of the homepage as well as the research for the welcome/navigation tour for the sandbox page.
  • Week 5/6: Finalize design plans of the welcome tour and homepage and begin implementation of both and begin research for the colorize modal.
  • Week 7/8: Finalize implementation of the homepage and planning for the colorize modal.
  • Week 9/10: Finalize implementation of the colorize modal and begin planning/design of the helps/tips modals.
  • Week 11/12: Finalize planning and implementation of the help/tips modals.

Ultimately, I wanted to have the sandbox page completely implemented by week 3 of the internship. This did not happen and took longer than expected. I had originally updated the code to from Bootstrap 3 to Bootstrap 4 and mid-coding/implementation, I chose to update it to Bootstrap 5 so that we could utilize components that were otherwise unavailable. To this end, there were many facets of Bootstrap 5 that I needed to familiarize myself with in order to take full advantage of its capabilities.

Another, smaller but significant, factor of my progress was learning and understanding the intricacies of git. At times I was unable to push my work because I had incorrectly managed my branch. With the help of my mentors, I learned much about correcting merge conflicts and the ins/outs of publishing to Github Pages as well as multiple commands I was not familiar with prior to beginning the project. I honestly feel that this accomplishment will be a vital part of my future success.

As the projects progresses, I've modified beginning the implementation of the Welcome Tour. I've felt it is best to implement this part of the project towards the end of the project as we are continually adding new features and making UI changes. Waiting to implement the modal will aid in minimizing any corrections or adjustments to it. The research and design of the modal is continual and ongoing. This will be key to a steady implementation.

At the midpoint of the project, I have had to push the design and implementation of the homepage. I feel like there is great momentum and that this will not affect project-management-2061635_1280.jpg completion of the project. If all goes well, the second half of the internship should go according to the original plan.

I'm excited to see how it turns out - stay tuned!