Open Source "beyond Software"

Screen Shot 2022-05-30 at 2.54.09 AM.png

I'm new to Web Development. Not long after taking such a sharp turn into this world I began to worry that I would miss what I so loved in my previous industry: the people. I loved the camaraderie, pride, and utter regard for others that I got from working on a team. I loved the self-respect and that sense of accomplishment and belonging that came from helping others. I feared that I would no longer have those things in this new-to-me industry.

As the first post of this series details, I stumbled upon Outreachy while searching for a tutorial on the web. I was so intrigued and excited that I read everything on their site. The Applicant's Guide links to many wonderful resources, one of which is where I found great relief. In an introduction article about opens source software I read that the "the open source way"

means expressing a willingness to share, collaborating with others in ways that are transparent (so that others can watch and join too), embracing failure as a means of improving, and expecting—even encouraging—everyone else to do the same.

Open Source "beyond Software" encompasses this attitude of playing an active role to toward improving the world. Transparency and collaboration are not only ambitions, but also realizations. Diverse perspectives are not only encouraged, but championed. People unite around community goals and shared values guide decision making.

After being accepted to the program, I further realized that this "attitude" is not mere fluff. People actually do make this industry a wonderful place to be. Everyone I've encountered, especially in needing clarification or further information, has been pleasingly helpful.

It can be tough entering a world you don't know much about, even tougher when you're aware of your own inexperience and that there are simply things that are over your head. When imposter syndrome creeps in, it is an absolute blessing knowing that you will be accepted with understanding.

Self-reliance is a core value that I strive to foster daily. With the open source community I am currently working with, Public Lab, it is encouraged to ask questions and I'm finding what a time saver that can be! It's also a community that cultivates justice, respect, openness, integrity and exploration. Please, feel free to ask me (or them) anything :)